Who am I?


Photo of me

Photo taken by my beautiful wife.

Well that’s a very good question. I am about to tell you all about me, what I do, what I like and yada, yada, yada. So I hope you enjoy reading and in the process I don’t bore you to death.

I am Fahad Jafarullah and as of writing this, I am 28 years, 1 month, 2 weeks, 5 days old and that’s exactly 10,277 days. Pretty nifty huh? Well enough of that. Let’s get started about me and all the fun things. Are you bored yet? No? Okay good. I grew up my whole life in New York City and I wouldn’t have it in any other way. I love New York. I am from Bangladesh but I was born in Saudi Arabia. My family had the luck of traveling around the world since my dad worked for the airlines and that’s how we ended up in New York. The best stories, memories, people I have met, experience I have gained, it all happened in New York City. There is one more thing that also took place in New York City, which is the most memorable and important part of my life but keep reading and you will find out what it is…

I have three sisters and a brother and out of five of us, I got all the art in my bones and blood. That is not to say that my other siblings don’t enjoy or like art, only I chose to follow it and decided to make a career out of it. I always had the affection for art as far as I can remember, although it changed over time in which direction I wanted to pursue. And by direction I mean in which medium I wanted to do. When I was young I painted, mostly water-color then later switched to acrylic. In middle-school I found sudden love for comic books and wanted to become a comic book artist. That didn’t last too long. Then when I was in high-school, I saw the movie Toy Story by Disney again and now I had another wild idea I wanted to chase. I wanted to do animation! That’s it and there is not a single thing in the world I wanted to do more. I started digging through all the know-hows, found out about the company Pixar behind all the awesome work of Toy Story. I downloaded Maya and started learning how to work with 3D all on my own. I bought books, videos, tutorials on the internet and the whole nine yards. Of course like all my curiosity, wanting to do animation also slowly faded away. Later years in high-school I took black & white photography class. I enjoyed photography very much, especially working in the dark room with the enlarger and negatives and the best part was the developing process. Film photography had a very unique experience and those of you that can relate you know exactly what I am talking about. Finally after graduating I went to college and chose Computer Engineer as my major and stayed with it for one year. There was something missing and I felt it inside me. I wanted art in my life not engineering stuff! Well what you know, I switched to Graphic Design and till this day I am very happy that I did. Got my bachelors degree and had some pretty interesting years in the design world.

So what happened to photography? Well nothing really, it just took a little break. But before I venture into that topic, remember I said something about “the most memorable part…”? That memorable part would be meeting Zinnatul, my wife. She changed my whole world. Her sense of encouragement and support with what I do has led me to try things I would have probably never tried, in a good way. Now, we are total opposites in many ways besides the rather obvious in gender but we do have many interest that are common. One being photography. She enjoys photography just as much as I do. So if you ever wonder who is that same person always appearing in many of my photographs, that’s her. I consider my self to be an amateur in photography but I do have vast knowledge about it and have numerous professional jobs that are in my portfolio. I am still learning and trying to find my way into the professional world of photography. Being a designer always helped my photography in the sense of style and of course in editing process. So that is what I do now, photography and graphic design. I enjoy it very much, it’s my passion and everything.

My purpose for this blog is to showcase my work and at the same time I want to give back something to you guys. Knowledge that I hold, stuff you can learn from me, tips and tutorials. How I process my photos, what tools to use and how to do and not to do. I will be updating as often as I can and keep you guys interested. You may see topics you already know or there may be something you weren’t aware of. What ever it is, I will try to keep it as interesting as possible. You may also ask me about something that you have seen in my work and liked, I will be more than happy to share my thoughts on it.

Well that sums up pretty much everything. Stay tuned for new stuff, I will add new photographs and planning on adding another gallery for my design work to the site. Along with my work I will add a bit of personal touch to the blog, so that way you will get to know me even more! That’s it for now. Ciao.

12 Responses to “Who am I?”

  1. Malia

    Beautifulllllllllly written. You are a true designer. Seen some of your work and they are mind blowing. This is just the beginning. All the best!!

    Reply
  2. Zinnatul

    I’m very happy that you are finally up and running :) good job! Looking forward to your upcoming posts.

    Reply
  3. jasmeen

    Superb,excellent,mind blowing!!!! i enjoyed it so much.Keep it up brother.My best wishes always with you.

    Reply
  4. mojo

    Good job bro! Wish u all the best! put out ur best of u……………
    :)

    Reply
  5. Shaheen

    I read your blog. Awesome job. Every word that you said is so true. One day, your dream will definitely come true and that day is not too far. Fahad, I am so proud of you. Keep up with your good work :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

